You Asked Me If I’d Miss You

dancing-shadows-2

In the dwindling light

Dancing shadows on the wall

That’s when I miss you

 

As those shadows fall

To the darkness of the night

That’s when I miss you

 

When I close my eyes

See your smile, hear your laughter

That’s when I miss you

 

Then I’m wide awake

You’re not there for me to hold

That’s when I miss you

 

A sound like your voice

Floating gently in the breeze

That’s when I miss you

 

A glimpse of you?

Turns my head every time

That’s when I miss you

 

Some passing fragrance

But your scent’s long departed

That’s when I miss you

 

Every day long

Every night so empty

That’s when I miss you

 

When time was endless

You would ask, ‘will you miss me?’

I’d say, ‘not at all’

 

Now, all of the time

You are always on my mind

That’s why I miss you

 

©Mark Davoren 2016

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

