Hoylake Beach

hoylake-beach-4

From a clear blue sky

The air hung warm and still

The awakening sun glistened

 

I lay back along the wall

Enjoying the silence

The absence of any crowd

 

But the warnings were there

Indications from afar

Of what was coming

 

Maybe it was the clouds

Slowly floating into sight

hovering and speckling the sky

 

Or the slight drop in temperature

Not much, nothing to register

But enough to shiver down my spine

 

My upward glance sought reassurance

The sun now playing hide and seek

Was there a danger unseen?

 

Trickles of air rushed round me

Deft little touches enough

To make me turn and stare. Where?

 

The breeze danced into life

To drown a distant throb

That I strained to hear

 

Little fingers appeared next

Dark and damp across the floor

Their scurrying grip ever stronger

 

Then the gentle pounding, pounding

Getting closer and closer

Growing louder by each beat

 

At last the cymbal crashed!

As wave after wave rushed in

All consuming, devastating

 

One after another after another

A pause to retreat, to reinforce

Then to attack again and again

 

Nothing was left unturned

Pools of life just rippled away

Before more came flooding in

 

Even on their wane there was no escape

A different threat from above

Was quick to pick off its prey

 

It was bloody, it was horrible

My pebbles all thrown in vain

As the sins of this world were washed away

 

I shrunk back, an attempt to hide

From this crescendo of violence

Destruction wrought at my feet

 

Yet no sooner had it started it was over

The clouds blew away, the sky was still

The sun beamed in glory to a new victor

 

And reflections of heaven shimmered

Across the watery grave

A blitzkrieg forgotten and buried away

 

I jumped down to escape the horror

Pedalled hard to get away

I knew the alarm had to be raised

 

But no one would believe me

My cries were all in vain

No one cared to see the blood upon the day

 

But I knew what had unravelled

I knew that war would rage again

And that the world – our world – would never be the same

 

© Mark Davoren 2017

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

